Skip to main content

Affiliated Research Programs


First Last Department Email Address Research and Teaching Interests
Tej Bhatia LLL tkbhatia@syr.edu forensic linguistics; translation, social-psychological information extraction, bilingualism; "critical" languages; area, language, and national security education
Pinyuen Chen Math pinchen@syr.edu cluster analysis, classification; statistics (collaboration with Ken Foster); multiple target detection (funded by Air Force); detection among large number of signals; covalent matrices
Tanya Eckert Psychology taeckert@syr.edu assessing and improving behavioral problems
Scott Erdman Biology seerdman@syr.edu mechanisms of adhesion and pathogenesis in fungi; cell surface markers associated with fungal differentiation and pathogenesis; lipid and membrane homeostasis mechanisms in fungi and eucaryotic cells
Kathy Everly LLL keverly@syr.edu Spanish language, culturally-bound perceptions of death and dying
Stefano Giannini LLL giannini@syr.edu Italian language; effectiveness of governments in three African countries with Italian connections: Somalia, Ethiopia, and Eritrea
Mike Goode English mgoode@syr.edu history of British detective literature; the emergence of the legal concept of conspiracy in eighteenth and ninteenth-century British detective novels; relationship between the rise of the novel and the early development of forensic science
Rania Habib LLL rhabib@syr.edu conversation analysis; cross-cultural communication; bilingualism;second dialect acquisition; language variation and change (particularly in relation to Standard Arabic and vernacular Arabic dialects) from a sociolinguistic perspective; pragmatics
Matt LaHaye Physics mlahaye@syr.edu development of novel nanoelectromechanical systems (NEMS); quantum entanglement; development of ultrasensitive NEMS-based measurement techniques for studying quantum measurement and, in the future, for bio-sensing applications
George Langford Biology glangfor@syr.edu cell and molecular biology of the actin cytoskeleton in health and disease; organelle/vesicle transport in axons of nerve cells; migration of human epithelial cells; pathogenic response of human oral keratinocytes
Matilde Maria Mateo-Sevilla Fine Arts mmmateo@syr.edu national stereotyping through art of the Middle Ages and 19th century, European and Spanish nationalisms, perceptions of Islam and Judaism from a Christian/West perspective
Britton Plourde Physics bplourde@syr.edu experimental studies of vortex dynamics and quantum coherence in nanofabricated superconducting devices; nature of entanglement in superconducting circuits; materials for improving the coherence of superconducting quantum circuits
Ramesh Raina Biology raraina@syr.edu receptor kinase proteins of the model plant Arabidopsis; sentinel plants that are capable of sensing and reporting variety of environmental stimuli, including, for example, chemical and biological warfare agents (funded by DARPA)
Peter Saulson Physics saulson@syr.edu mechanical properties of materials in realms specialized to ultra-high sensitivity interferometry for gravitational wave detection
Richard Schnee Physics rwchnee@syr.edu detection of extremely low levels of radioactivity; developing world's most sensitive detector of non-penetrating radiation from radioactivity on surfaces
Kari Segraves Biology ksegrave@syr.edu DNA sequencing, AFLP genotyping, microsatellites; evolutionary interactions between plants and insects
Donald Siegel Earth Sci. disiegel@syr.edu tracing sources of hydrocarbon, solvent, and other chemical contamination in waters and air
Laurence Thomas Philosophy lthomas@syr.edu evolutionary biology; merely different vs. threatening behaviors; concepts of diversity in relation to security
Jason Wiles Biology jwiles01@syr.edu biology education; evolution; incorporations of forensic science into biology education
Amy Wyngard LLL aswyngaa@syr.edu French language, literature, and culture
Jon Zubieta Chemistry jazubiet@syr.edu structures and identification of explosives; MOF sensors